The Museum is temporarily closed from September 3, 2007 through spring 2008.
Museum programming will continue On-The-Go events under the renovation.
Brooklyn Children's Museum present building was built between 1972 and 1975, and opened in May of 1977. It is located in Brower Park, where the old Smith Mansion used to be.
The building is a unique underground structure, designed by the architects Hardy Holzman Pfeiffer Associates. It contains 35,000 square feet of space.
The architects recycled other building structures into its design. Visitors enter the building through a trolley kiosk from the 1900's. Another unique feature is the "People Tube," a huge sewer pipe that connects four exhibit floors. A huge corn oil tank became the "Tank," a small ampitheater used for performances.
Throughout its long history, the BCM has been a leader among museums. Since BCM was founded, over 200 other children's museums in the United States and more around the world have followed its model.
Today, BCM continues to grow and change, to keep pace with an ever changing world and the unique needs of children as it enters the twenty-first century.